How To Share A Private YouTube Video [A Complete Guide]

How To Share A Private YouTube Video

Do you have a private video on YouTube that you want to share?

Or you noticed a private YouTube video that you might want to get access to.

For you to view a private YouTube video, you have to have access to be invited by the original creator.

If you are a YouTube creator and you want to share an already uploaded video from your channel.

You will then treat the video as an unlisted video by creating a shareable link and sharing the link with anyone.

So, if anyone has access to the URL of the video, they will be able to watch it at any given time.

In this guide, you will learn:

  • How to view a private YouTube video
  • Difference between unlisted and private YouTube video
  • How to delete a private YouTube video
  • What does private YouTube video mean?
  • Can you embed a private video?
  • Can you use copyrighted music on private YouTube videos?
  • How long does it take to publish a private YouTube video?

How To View A Private YouTube Video

If you want access to any private video on YouTube, you will need to have an invite.

To do this, you need to request an invite to view the video from the owner of the YouTube channel.

Once you have been invited, you can then go ahead and watch the video.

Making videos private on YouTube is a great way of protecting the privacy of your video.

Difference Between Unlisted And Private YouTube Video

There isn’t much difference between an unlisted video and a private video on YouTube.

The only major difference is that you will need a link to access an unlisted video.

However, for a private video, you will need to be sort of invited by the original creator.

Either way, the two types of video will bot appear on your channel, Google search, or anywhere.

So practically, their similarities are much more than their differences.

How to delete a private YouTube video

To delete a private YouTube video, you will need to have to YouTube studio.

And, for you to do that, the video will need to be yours.

Once you have logged in to your YouTube studio dashboard, go to “videos”

Select the video and then tap on “delete” from the drop-down menu.

This will then delete your private video.

What does private YouTube video mean?

A private YouTube video is a video that no one knows about.

A video that only you have access to, which anyone else can get access to if they have been invited by you or you shared the link to them.

Can you embed a private video?

No, private videos cannot be embedded, only public videos can.

Some plugins can be used for embedding public videos especially if you are using WordPress to blog.

Can you use copyrighted music on private YouTube videos?

No, copyrighted music cannot be used in any type of YouTube video.

Even if the video is private, you will receive a strike from YouTube, so do not use copyrighted material on any video you want to upload on YouTube.

How long does it take to publish a private YouTube video?

The upload time of any video to the youtube platform depends on the size of the video and your internet connection.

It can also depend on youtube servers, how long it takes to process a video, process HD, and check the video.

However, the time it takes for youtube to upload a private video and also a public video is the same.

And it takes about 20-30 minutes to upload depending on factors like size and internet connection. Afterward, processing starts followed by the HD processing (which takes 10 minutes to an hour) then youtube checks the video for copyright infringement.

Lastly, after all these processes you will now be able to upload your video, private or public.

Conclusion

This guide contains steps on how to make the most of a private youtube video.

This article contains the meaning of a private youtube video, how you can share one with your friends, differences between unlisted and private youtube videos, and more.

To give anyone access to your private YouTube video by email, you send an invite to up to 25 people at once.

Alternatively, you can set the video to unlisted which is easier to share because all you need to do is to share the URL of the video to those you want to see the video.

Additional Reading:

How To Fix YouTube Processing HD Version

How To Turn Off Snapchat Notifications

How To Fix “Sorry This Site Doesn’t Allow You To Save Pins” On Pinterest

Brianna Bailey

Brianna is based in Minnesota in the US at the moment, and has been writing since 2017. She is currently a 3rd Year med student at the time of writing this.