How To Delete Highlights On Instagram iPhone, Android

*Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you. Read my  Disclaimer for more info.
highlights on Instagram

Do you use highlights on Instagram?

If so, you want to delete some of them or all of them to declutter your Instagram profile.

Deleting an Instagram highlight is easy, all you need do is Tap and hold on the highlight, a list of options will appear.

Then, tap on “delete highlights” to delete it.

Once you have deleted it, it will no longer be shown on your Instagram page or anywhere else.

However, if you have enabled archives on Instagram, your deleted highlights might still be found there unless you you deleted them permanently.

In this article, you will learn:

  • How to delete Instagram highlights permanently,
  • How to archive Instagram highlights,
  • How to rename Instagram highlights,
  • How to add to Instagram highlights without adding to your story?
  • Can you organize the order of Instagram highlights?
  • Can someone see that I viewed their Instagram highlight?
  • Can you see if someone screenshots your Instagram highlights?
  • Is there a limit on how many Instagram highlights one can have?

How To Delete Instagram Highlights Permanently

To permanently delete your Instagram highlights, go to your profile on Instagram.

Tap and hold on the highlight, a list of options will appear.

Tap on “delete highlights”

Then navigate to the archive by tapping on the off-canvas menu on the top right.

While on there switch to stories archive and find the story you want to delete.

Tap and select the stories. Then tap on the 3 dots on the bottom right corner of your screen.

A list of options including “share as photo, “send to” will pop up.

Just tap on “delete” and that is how you can permanently delete your Instagram highlights.

How To Archive Your Instagram Highlight

To archive your Instagram highlight you have to go the live story and tap on the 3 dots at the bottom right and you will see an option to archive.

Remember that to archive your Instagram story means to save that post in your Instagram app and not on your phone.

And, you are the only person that will be able to see your archive on Instagram.

You can also repost your archived posts on Instagram to your story or timeline.

How To Rename An Instagram Highlight

To rename Instagram your highlight, tap and hold on the highlight collection.

A couple of options will appear, tap on “edit highlight”

Tap on title to edit and rename.

How Do I Delete Instagram Highlights Individually

In a case where you do not want to delete the whole highlights.

You just want to remove a particular post from your collection of highlights.

Simply navigate to the post you want to remove.

Tap the 3 dots below that is on the right, and you will see an option to remove from highlights.

Tap on it, and your post will be deleted/removed from that collection of highlights and moved to the archives.

If you want to permanently remove the post from your Instagram page, go to your archive and delete it from there.

How To Add To Instagram Highlights Without Adding To Your Story

Before you can do this, your Instagram account has to be on private.

Then start by navigating to settings on your Instagram profile.

Tap on “privacy” and then “story”

Then choose “hide story from” option.

Pick as many names as possible, the maximum is 200.

After this, post on all you want on your story and go back and unchoose all those names you picked on the “hide story from” stage.

Now add that story to your highlights and no one is ever going to know you posted on your story but they will see it on your highlights.

Can You Organize The Order Of Instagram Highlights?

Not exactly, at least not alphabetically unless you rename the highlights which does not also work.

However, the only way to arrange your highlights in any order is to add a new story to the highlight you want to come first.

For example, add a story to the highlight you want to see at the last place, then to the highlight you want to see at the second position and so on and so forth.

Can Someone See That I Viewed Their Instagram Highlight?

No they will not as long as the highlight is over 48 hours.

So you don’t need to worry about viewing highlights because the original poster will not see that you watched it.

Can You See If Someone Screenshots Your Instagram Highlights?

No.

If somebody screenshots a highlight on your instagram profile you will not know about this.

Instagram will not notify you in any way of any screenshot be it your posts or highlights.

Is There A Limit On How Many Instagram Highlights One Can Have?

Yes. 100 highlights!

However, you can exceed 100 highlights but the oldest highlight will be moved from your Instagram page to your archive.

If you end up deleting any highlights, the archived highlight will appear  on your profile again.

Conclusion

Deleting and archiving Instagram highlights is a simple task that takes about a minute to execute.

However, it is better safe than sorry when trying to get rid of posts from your social media.

So that you don’t end up losing important photos and videos.