Do you want to know how to delete your snapchat account permanently?
Or you want to temporarily deactivate it for a while?
Deleting accounts is one of most common functions available on Snapchat and even on Instagram aside from the blocking function.
You can delete your snapchat account permanently and temporarily depending on your needs at the moment.
The steps to take to do this are as simple as A, B, C, D…and it will take you a few minutes to accomplish.
In this guide, you will learn:
- How to delete a snapchat account permanently or temporarily,
- What happens when you delete your Snapchat account?
- How to remove or delete your Snapchat friends,
- How to delete someone from Snapchat best friends list,
- How to permanently delete Snapchat messages, and
- How can I recover a deleted Snapchat account?
How To Delete Your Snapchat Account In Few Easy Step
To start the process of deleting your account on Snapchat, follow the steps below:
Login to your Snapchat account on the web by visiting this URL https://accounts.snapchat.com/
On that site, you will be asked to input your login details.
Make sure you have written down your login details somewhere in case you decide to reactivate your account.
If you have enabled 2FA authentication on your account, you will be asked to input a code that will be sent to your phone number or email address.
Inputting the code that will be sent to you will help Snapchat identify that it is you and also allow you to move on to the next step of deleting your account.
Once you have typed in the code, you will need to tap on “Submit” and you will be immediately taken to a new page where you need to confirm that you truly want to delete your Snapchat account, see the photo below:
While still on the confirmation page, you will be asked to input your login details again and tap on “Continue” just like in the photo above.
Once you have tapped on “Continue”, your account will be deactivated to be deleted.
Note that if you don’t log into your Snapchat account within 30 days your account will be permanently deleted, gone.
What Happens When You Delete Your Account On Snapchat?
When you delete your account on snapchat a number of things can happen, which can include the following:
- Your friends will not be able to contact you anymore,
- Your username will not appear in the search queries any longer,
- You will cease to exist on Snapchat unless you decide to create a new account,
- Your “my eyes only” media will be wiped off permanently,
- Your memories will be cleared too unless you requested your data to be sent to you in an email where you can now download it.
Of course the aforementioned things can only happen after 30 days of deleting your account without logging in within those days
However, if you have requested data from Snapchat, you will have to wait till you get it before you can delete your account.
How To Delete/Remove A Snapchat Friend
If you will like to delete or remove your Snapchat friend from your friend list. You will have to take the following steps:
On Snapchat, in the search box, search for the person’s username.
Then click on their profile icon to view their complete profile
Next, click on the 3 dots on the top right corner of your screen assuming you are using a mobile device.
A list of options including: “edit name, block… will appear, tap on “Remove Friend”
And that is how you delete a friend your snapchat’s friends list!
Remember that you cannot use this method to delete multiple friends at once.
How To Delete Someone From Snapchat Best Friends List
Sometimes you see may someone pop up on Snapchat as your “Best Friend” and it is usually denoted by a blushing emoji.
This is Snapchat’s way of telling you that you text that person a lot more than others on the interface.
If you don’t like it and would want to change that. Simply do the following:
- Stop texting the person a week or more,
- Remove them from your friend’s list,
- Block them, or
- Start texting someone else more than them.
How To Permanently Delete Snapchat Messages
The only way you can permanently delete a snapchat message if the following has not happened:
- The message has not been opened/read by the recieve
- The message was not saved in the chat by the user.
If none of the aforementioned things has happened then you can simply tap and hold on to the message and you will see an option to delete it for everyone among other options like “Copy”.
Can I Recover A Deleted Snapchat Account?
Yes you can.
However, this can only happen if it has not been more than 30 days since you deleted your account on Snapchat.
According to snapchat if it has been over 30 days since the account was deleted, you will not be able to recover your account.
If you got to this part of this guide, I have explained and given tips to take on how to delete snapchat account permanently or temporarily.
Most of these tips can also be found on Snapchat’s support site and the majority have been tried personally.
So this is my way of informing you that no harm will come to your account if you decide to follow the aforementioned steps.
If you don’t understand any step that I have mentioned in this article, feel free to comment below with your question.
How To Turn Off Notifications On Snapchat IPhone, Android
What Does It Mean On Snapchat When It Says Pending?
How To Change My Eyes Only Password On Snapchat